top of page

Nadi Astrology - 4 - Tantra Nadi

There is nothing to be scared of Tantra Nadi. The meaning of Tantra is mathematical analysis. This branch of astrology gives very interesting results by combining the Traditional Astrology, mathematical calculations and many other innovative techniques. It has nothing to do with Mantras.

The treatises like the Bhrigu Nadi, Dhruva Nadi or Satya Nadi, Deva Keralam or Chandra Kala Nadi, Buddha Nadi, Suka Nadi etc; are available in Sanskrit. Their techniques are distinct from each other and determining the Nadi Amsa is the key and all the mathematical analysis starts with this.

First of all, let us examine the division of time and the division of Rasi chart. This will help us to understand the Nadi Amsa.

Amsa chakra is one of the most important charts of Indian Astrology. Rasi chart is based on the position of planets at the time of birth. All the aspects of a horoscope cannot be understood just with the help of Rasi chart. Amsa chakras have to be studied to understand the various aspects. The analysis should be done by correlating the Rasi chart and Amsa chart.

Maharishi Parashara articulated sixty varga (divisional) charts. In general practice and based on one’s experience six or seven or ten varga/divisional charts are analyzed for reasonably accurate predictions.

Rasi, Hora, Drekkana, Chaturthamsa, Panchamsa, Shashtyamsa, Saptamsa, Navamsa, Dasamsa etc; are the various amsa or varga/divisional charts. Shashtyamsa means to consider until the sixtieth division. Experienced Astrologers even analyze the Nava Navamsa (81) Nava Dwadasamsa (108). These categories are derived by dividing each rasi into micro divisions. The 150th micro division is called Nadi Amsa.

Each Sign has 30 degrees and the Rasi chart is formed by 12 * 30 = 360 degrees. Each Rasi roughly rises for two hours. Therefore, 12 Rasis complete the Rasi chart in 12*2 =24 hours.

Let us examine some of the mathematical concepts.

Standard rasi is 30 degrees which is equal to its rising of 2 hours.

30 degrees = 2 hours

30*60*60 seconds of arc = 2*60*60 seconds of time.

To get the Nadi Amsa, divide this by 150.

(30 * 60 *60)/150 = (2 * 60 *60)/150

720 seconds or arc = 48 seconds of time

12 minutes of arc = 48 seconds of time

This means 48 seconds time is equal to one Nadi Amsa. Satyacharya has further divided this into purva and para divisions with 24 seconds of time each. He again divided this 24 seconds into four sub-divisions, which means a micro time slot of 6 seconds. If birth time differs even for six seconds, the micro analysis of a horoscope will completely change. This is the reason Nadi Astrology emphasizes on the exact time of birth.

The 150 Nadi Amsa’s have different names like Vasuda, Vasudharini, Vaishnavi, Brahmi etc. Each rasi will have 150 Nadi Amsas, which totals to 1800 Nadi Amsas for 12 Rasis. With this micro analysis, one can predict the current life as well as past lives, effects of bad karmas from past lives, blemishes, curses, and remedies that are needed for future births in a horoscope.

The method of calculation of Nadi Amsa is as follows:

For moveable Rasi’s (Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn) - the count is from 1 to 150 in normal order.

For fixed Rasi’s ( Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius) - the count is from 150 to 1st Nadi Amsa.

For mixed Rasi’s ( Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces) - the count is from the 76th amsa onwards in the normal order.

In the next article we will discuss more on this subject.

All rights reserved. This article has been translated by Manibabu A, which was originally posted in on February 19, 2009. The content or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express permission of the publisher

bottom of page