top of page

Four Goals of Human life - Few Astrological and Tantric Secrets

I have previously discussed how the four goals (Purusharthas) can be seen among the 12 houses of the horoscope. For now, let us focus on ‘Dharma - Desire’ triangles alone and perform a detailed analysis.

Dharma and Desire do not usually go well together. Hence the two triangles lie exactly opposite and intersect one another. But if these two are integrated properly, that is to say, if the desires are rooted in dharma, then life will align with God’s will and be in harmony with Nature. By doing so, man can become a reflection of God on Earth and truly live as a Son of God.

The yantra where Dharma and Desire triangles meet is known as Shatkona Subramanya Yantra (the hexagonal symbol, six-pointed star). He is the son of Shiva - Shakti, the divine father and mother of the worlds and is also known as Lord Kumara. Kumara means a child, a boy or son. Every man is indeed a child of God. But, one who can coordinate Dharma, which is indicated by 1, 5, 9 houses (Shiva) of the zodiac with the Desire, indicated by 3, 7, 11 houses (Shakti) of the zodiac, becomes a divine child. This is represented by the two intersecting triangles facing each other in Kumara yantra.

The upward facing triangle is the Dharma triangle. In the zodiac, it is present in the 1st, 5th, 9th houses and represents Lord Shiva, who is the embodiment of Dharma. Dharma (universal law) is the foundation of the creation. It always faces upwards and never looks down. The nature of Shiva is fiery. Fire always rises upwards from below.

The downward facing triangle represents Shakti. It is present in the 3rd, 7th, 11th houses of the zodiac. The nature of Shakti is watery. Shakti is fluid. Water always flows from top to bottom, which is why the Desire triangle faces downwards. There is no creation without Shakti. Shakti is the all-pervasive force encompassing the universe.

The union of Shiva and Shakti is Lord Kumara, whose yantra has six angles, depicted by the six faces of Lord Shanmukha. These six angles are formed by the intersection of two triangles. Similarly, when Dharma and Desire unite, an exalted man is born. Lord Shanmukha is the ruler of all exalted forces in the universe. Hence the name Deva senapati, this does not mean that he is the husband of a goddess named Devasena. It means that he is the lord of the divine forces, formed by the union of dharma and desire.

This fundamental idea exists in all the ancient religions. In Tantra, which is a part of Hindu religion, this idea is depicted as Shiva, Shakti and Kumara, which can be interpreted as the world that is moving (Shakti), the immovable support (Shiva) and man (Kumara). Christianity has adapted this concept and presented it as Father, Holy Ghost and Son. It considers Jehova as Father, Soul (Atma) as Holy Ghost and Jesus Christ to be the Son.

But the original idea which can be seen in the Tantra part of Hindu religion, which is much ancient than Christianity is as below

Father = Shiva, God or Divine Father

Holy ghost = Goddess Kali or Divine Mother

Son = Lord Kumara.

A strange thing can be observed here. The appearance of Goddess Kali matches exactly with the description of the Holy Ghost. Though she has a terrible form, she is very benign and motherly in her nature.

If we analyze impartially, Hindu religion is by far the oldest and the completest of all religions, because the ideas present in all the religions were already a part of Hindu religion, thousands of years ago.

Put in a different way, all religions are but segments of Hindu religion. People belonging to any religion across the world, knowingly or unknowingly worship Shiva-Shakti. What more can anyone possibly do? Because Shiva and Shakti alone are the ultimate entities in the world.

Astrologically, this geometrical figure can be seen as the union of Dharma and Desire triangles. As per Tantra, this is the embodiment of Shiva-Shakti, known as Shanmukha Subramanya Yantra. Expert astrologers would instantly know, in what proportion dharma and desire are present in a man by looking at this yantra in a chart.

If Dharma is more and Desire is less, the chart is Divine.

If Desire is more and Dharma is less, it is Demonic.

If both are present in equal proportion, it is Human.

To gain this insight, one should be an expert in analyzing the six houses (1, 5, 9, 3, 7, 11) of the zodiac. There is another peculiarity here. There is a pattern behind these numbers - 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11. I will explain the mystery behind this number pattern and the tantric secrets in a later post.

Finally here’s an unexpected twist, in ancient Judaism this Subrahmanya yantra is known as Solomon’s Seal. King Solomon used to worship this yantra and wear it around his neck. Thus, knowingly or unknowingly, he worshipped Lord Subrahmanya, who is the embodiment of Shiva-Shakti. Unlike the present day world, in ancient times, people did not have religious narrow mindedness. They used to accept true knowledge regardless of where it came from. King Solomon had the knowledge of occult sciences. Ancient Tantra reached Egypt from India. So it wouldn’t be untrue to assume that King Solomon had known about it.

The sciences like Astrology and Tantra can give such wonderful insights.

All rights reserved. This article has been translated by Snehalata M, which was originally posted in on January 10, 2010. The content or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express permission of the publisher.


bottom of page